Homeschool Basics

Leave a comment

January 23, 2015 by multiracialsky

Natasha_Sky_magpo2

If you lined up all my elementary homeschooling years back to back to back, this is my 15th year teaching elementary school. I design my own curriculum, and it changes some every year. However, I have definitely established favorite workbooks for basic academic subjects, and I thought I’d share these resources with you.

LANGUAGE ARTS: Learning Horizons Premium Education Series, Language Arts

MATH: Spectrum Math

SPELLING: Evan-Moor Building Spelling Skills

PRINTING & CURSIVE: Flash Kids Print Writing & Cursive Writing Practice Workbooks

JOURNALING: Mead Primary Journal, lined only & with picture space

SUPPLEMENT: I use micro-focused Kumon workbooks for all sorts of skills that need a little extra reinforcement, as well as School Zone math workbooks

I’m using Evernote to track our work this time around, with a Homeschool Notebook and a new list-based note for each 7-day week. I’ve used a paper planner to track work in the past, but this will be easier to compile and organize everything for our year-end report. Also, in the past 3 years I have almost completely switched to tracking everything in my life with lists on the computer, instead of lists in notebooks and on scraps of paper.

I’m still holding on to the big Ansel Adams calendar on the kitchen wall, though. No Google calendar for me yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2014 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
