What is K’Vay?

1

May 8, 2014 by multiracialsky

Natasha_Sky_kvaymp1I love to create. I’ve been making things for as long as I can remember. Recycling inspires me. I love thrift stores and overflowing barns. My favorite way to paint is on found and discarded materials with food-dyed milk paint. I work hard to contribute new beauty to the world with earth-friendly and reused materials.

Over the past 18 months, I have become fully immersed in my artistic practice after spending the previous ten years in full-time parenting and home-education of my children. I have honed my foci and brought together my love of art, social justice activism, and environmentalism into the art form of K’Vay.

K’Vay is pronounced ‘kay-vay’ and comes from the Spanish “¿Qué ve?” It means “What do you see?” K’Vay art joins together my daily experiences with my inner dialogue, and expresses it in a way that viewers are invited to join in with their own experiences. K’Vay artwork invites all viewers to contemplate their own point of view alongside that of others, and contemplation and interpretation of a K’Vay painting serves as an impetus to change or expand the viewer’s perspective. Everyone sees something different.

With my K’Vay artwork, I want to make people think, to ponder the constant impact of their frame of reference. In particular, I am interested in the experience of passing, and the overlapping cultural divides of race, class, and privilege.

As an advocate for my point of view, at least 10% of annual profits from sales of K’Vay artwork support youth in foster care, the local foodshelf, and families living with poverty.

 

One thought on “What is K’Vay?

  1. […] break it all down over here on my creative living […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2014 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
