Why You Should Be Watching The Fosters

Leave a comment

January 24, 2014 by multiracialsky

thefosters

The Fosters is my new favorite TV show. Unlike Parenthood, it focuses on the lives of the five teens in the family, and their friends. It covers many (most?) of the major issues that come up for our kids today. For me, it is a catalyst to talk about things I have always wanted to talk (sometimes more) about with my pre-teens, but the ‘right time’ rarely comes around.

Some of the topics covered in the show so far: divorce, same-sex relationships, same-sex marriage, adoption, foster care, step-parenting, blended families, interracial relationships, transracial adoption, biracial identity, interracial marriage, birth parent relationships, ADHD, premarital sex, the morning after pill, undocumented immigrants, running away, peer pressure, foreclosure, budding transgender identity, juvenile detention, teen group homes, shop-lifting, teen drug use, teen drinking, honesty/lying in parent-child and sibling relationships… I’m sure there’s more; that’s just off the top of my head.

With two kids in middle school, many of these are the issues I want my kids to be thinking about–and talking about with me. Some of the situations this show presents are so important for my children to have considered before they themselves are faced with them.

If you can’t tell already, I highly, highly recommend the Fosters. You can watch on ABC or purchase through iTunes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2014 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
