Claire’s Corner Copia

Leave a comment

September 11, 2013 by multiracialsky

Claire's Corner Copia Cookbook

Claire’s Corner Copia is a vegetarian restaurant in New Haven, CT, open for more than 35 years. I’ve been a handful of times, but this post is about the original Claire’s Corner Copia cookbook.

I was raised in a meat-centric 1950s-cooking-style family. As a self-declared vegetarian at age 14, I was used to picking around the bacon in the green bean dish and explaining to my grandmother why jello was not in fact vegetarian. This Claire’s cookbook was a wedding gift, which my barely-not-a-teen self desperately needed. My new partner could cook–and well. I could make buttered pasta. And apples and peanut butter. And banana bread. That was about it.

Now, seventeen years later, I’m a comfortable cook, throwing together my family’s favorite meals without the recipe in front of me, substituting and tweaking according to what is in the fridge and my kids’ dietary needs (we’re dairy-free). Many of our favorite meals are variations on a Claire’s recipe: pasta pomodoro, split pea soup, potato corn chowder, stir fry, and pepper fajitas. I highly recommend this cookbook as a valuable addition to any vegetarian family kitchen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2014 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
