Why I Do This

Leave a comment

June 4, 2008 by multiracialsky

I recieved an email from a college student last week. With the author’s permission, I share most of it here with you all:

Subject: thank you–from a confused adult/child : )

Hello, I just stumbled upon your site from racialicious and I just wanted to thank you for everything you’ve written here. I’m coming up on my 21st birthday and all I can really seem to think about is: “Is it okay for me to say I’m multi-racial?” I grew up knowing that I was a Black kid. I also grew up knowing that I was descended from slaves–that I was African, Irish, Native American, and Chinese. None of those things seemed at odds with each other until I came to college. Now I think that I can only say I’m “mixed” if my parents identify as two different races. Now I feel like it’s my duty to denounce the “mixed” multi-racial identity…even if it’s something I experience daily from the stares to the “what are you’s?” to the “how is that your last name?”…blech.

So your post about how you became confident in your self-identification as a Person of Color gives me a lot of hope. It didn’t really answer any questions for me (in fact it gave me more!) But now I feel like I have something to look forward to. That, one day, I’ll be able to choose an identity I feel comfortable with. And that I really feel represents who I am.

So again, thank you. What you do with this blog (and in your life) is truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2014 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
