Fairy Party

1

May 21, 2007 by multiracialsky

A couple years ago we began choosing themes for the kids’ birthday parties and asked our friends to bring a photo or drawing related to the party theme instead of a present. Dog, pig, and duck themes were easy. Skateboarders were a little harder (these stickers saved us).

This winter my oldest daughter turned five, and she wanted a fairy party. I began to casually look at fairy paraphernalia in the fall, and suddenly realized it was going to be harder than the animal themes–because all the fairies I found were White. I looked harder. I looked online. I called family members in big cities and asked them to look for me. Tucked away in a drawer I found four Folkmanis fairies I had purchased back when our almost five-year-old was still a baby; hanging in the hall, they became our decorations.

Invitations and stickers with fairies of African descent were impossible to find. Jaja drew a picture of a fairy and we scanned it into the computer where she chose colors to fill in her drawing. We made our own invitations and printed out Jaja’s fairy stickers on adhesive labels.

From Boston came this multiracial (and multi-gender) set of magnetic fairies. 

I bought a doll online, and in the midwest my mom found the fairy costume to go with it. I then wrote a letter to the company that makes Only Hearts Club dolls, asking them to please add a darker-skinned African American doll and an Asian doll to their collection (in addition to their five straight-haired, fair-skinned dolls).

All of these party preparations did not cost much money, they just took a lot of time.

Anything pre-printed (birth announcements, birthday party invitations, books to track baby’s first year) is complicated for multiracial families. Often you must choose one race or skin-color, or skip anything with people all together. Rarely can I find a pre-printed multiracial family or group of people, and often the ‘multiracial’ groups are (for example) eight White children, one Asian child, and one all-encompassing brown-skinned child. I have been told I go overboard in trying to present our children with images that reflect our family’s full heritage–but I believe it is essential for my multiracial children (in a multiracial family) to see families like theirs and people who look like them.

It is a constant balancing act between honoring our family’s diverse heritage and just letting my kids be kids. For this party, I caved on the balloons–the only balloon with a fairy was blonde: scantily-dressed Tinkerbell.

I work hard to ensure my children’s home environment represents our family’s full heritage: contemporary and historical Native American images, photos of African American and African peoples, White American and European peoples, and Asian and Latino peoples as well (some of whom are included in our extended family).

I scrutinize picture puzzles, lacing cards, and matching games to be sure they represent a range of skin-tones and do not include stereotyped images of people of color. In our family of three girls and one boy, my filter includes gender as well. I actively seek out photos of boys with long hair and wearing non-traditional clothing.

I don’t have a picture in my head of who my children are going to become, who they may partner with or marry, what their children may look like, or what fashion trends they eventually will follow. I only hope they grow up to be confident in who they are, know their family and ancestral history, and believe the world is open to them–so they can become who and whatever they wish to be.

One thought on “Fairy Party

  1. aly evershine says:

    Hi! I’m not a biracial parent, but I am the “fairy godmother” to 2 fantastic, beautiful biracial girls, one 8, and the other is just turning 3. Her birthday party is days away. I wish I had found your “article” last week & info about the fairy doll you purchased before I just gave up & ordered an hispanic doll that I will attach wings to when it arrives.

    I did want to let you and others know that I been searching for years now for non-white fairy cards, stickers, etc., anything I could get my hands on. I haven’t found much, but American Greetings puts out two versions of fairy stickers: one is usually displayed around valentine’s day, has candy hearts & multi-ethnic fairies & the other has butterflies, unicorns and unfortunately only 1 non-white fairy (but I’ll take whatever I can get!).

    What is also unfortunate is that American Greetings doesn’t seem to name their different sticker designs, but I have found them both at a local American Greetings store. I have also found both of these sticker designs at Walmart in the greeting cards section. I’ve also found other stickers in the crafts section of Walmart. They are “Sticko Vellum” stickers and have one sheet of muti-ethnic fairies. The design is called “friendly fairies” and they are put out by a company called EK Success. They also have a website: http://www.eksuccess.com.

    I don’t know if this info will be helpful to you since your “fairy party” has passed, but perhaps this info could be posted for others.

    *************
    Thanks so much! Those fairy stickers are fabulous. The direct link is:
    http://www.eksuccess.com./products_detail.php?product_id=4791&sess_id=887e78760763d6fac75667f0dd6270b1
    And with 2 younger girls, I’ll probably be throwing a fairy party again some day.
    Natasha

Leave a Reply

Categories

COPYRIGHT

© 2007-2013 All rights reserved by Natasha Sky. Posts, essays, photographs, and art may not be republished, reprinted, or repurposed without permission.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

